Why worry about performance?

Before we jump into how to measure performance, let me convince you that it's worth it.

Already convinced you should be measuring performance? Jump to the "In the lab" implementation section below.

<aside> šŸ’” Each 100ms decrease in homepage load speed increases session conversion by 1.11%

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At least, that was the case forĀ Mobify. Quite a few sites saw dramatic increases in conversion by improving performance.

The team at Google came up with a list of reasons that performance matters and it can be broken up into the following categories:

Why does speed matter?

1. Money

Let's say improving performance increases your conversion rateĀ one percent. How big of an impact might that have on your profit?

Return on ad spend (ROAS) is a very important metric when doing any paid marketing. It's basically the measure of how efficient your ad spend is.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/secure.notion-static.com/d2ac4c92-8f8e-4d95-b77f-f9998cd9839e/CleanShot-2020-09-07-at-15.35.56.png

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/11UwZ3o55u_B-bjKZyc7XIz3otk0B7Cq6YzIKGW-jklA/edit?usp=sharing

If you have a budget of $4000 and a conversion rate of 5%, you're dramatically outperforming your competition with double the budget if their conversion rate is 1%.

High conversion rates are the difference between success and failure, especially in low-margin businesses.

2. UX

Ever browsed a slow, jumpy, and bloated site? Did you have a good time? Exactly. Core Web Vitals encourage prioritizing visual and technical accessibility across teams. User experience is not solely the responsibility of the Design and UX team, it's something we all contribute to.

3. SEO

It's always been a bit of a secret how much Google thinks performance matters for search rank.

With the recent release of Core Web Vitals, I think they are making their stance more clear. Performance mattersĀ andĀ will mater more and more over time.

Google has been signaling these metrics are very important.